[Park Eun-bin] SPORBIZ: I Want to Meet You Again in Stove League Season 2

After the final episode of Stove League, Park Eun-bin had interviews with various media, mostly to talk about her latest drama in 2020, Stove League, and her future projects. This time, we have translated a mini interview with SPORBIZ Korea. In general, she discussed the success of the drama, her character (Lee Se-young), and her goals. She also talked the possibility of Season 2 as the drama received a lot of love from the viewers.

Please do not take the translation out without a full credit @typedmaru.
If you want to use our translation and change to another language, let us know by the comments or talk to us on our Twitter account. Thank you!


Actress Park Eun-bin disclosed the SBS ‘Stove League’s popularity secret. She played as the only female and the youngest operation team leader in the Korean professional baseball team, Lee Se-young. Her outspoken comments have gained attention throughout the show and she has performed perfectly as a capable youngest team leader of operation team.

As for the secret behind the popularity of ‘Stove League’ even after the final, she said, “All actors are sincere in acting, I believe that’s the reason for success,” adding, “It wasn’t difficult or tiresome to go to the shooting location, actually I thought I’d enjoy ‘another day in the meeting room again today’. The teamwork was pretty good as well.”

Please say something after the final episode

I’m still perplexed since the drama did a great job. I didn’t feel the fame, but I realized it when I heard the talk during the interview. Although it’s been a long time since the drama concluded, I’m thankful for all the recognition the drama has earned.

Why did you choose ‘Stove League’?

This isn’t a baseball drama, but it’s interesting to see the deep story behind baseball. Once I saw the script, I felt the strength of the script itself. When I met the writer and producer, I was sure that it could be turned into a nice piece of work. So it was a pleasure to know the world of ‘Front’, which I didn’t know as well.

Wasn’t it difficult to act as the first female operation team leader?

I found it a little challenging, because, above all, at the time, there was no one to refer to, and there was no precedent. I think Se-young has a lot of power given to her, so I tried to make her look more experienced. I tried hard to give the impression that she qualified to be the team leader because she’s doing her job well.

You have a good knowledge about baseball and front. Do you like baseball?

To be honest, I didn’t know baseball that well. Just like Baek Seung-soo once said in the first episode, I’ve just learned basic rules. I didn’t even know such thing like Official Scorer existed. So I’ve been learning a lot while preparing for the drama. I didn’t know much about this world (t/n. baseball world), but after learning it, I was in awe that I was going to live in this fierce world.

There is no love line in ‘Stove League’. Wasn’t it disappointing?

It was the story of the front, but I thought I could project myself in it. It’s basically a story about people, so I think you can tell everyone’s story without having a romance. In actual work life, we rarely love someone. I thought it would be more realistic to maintain some line and keep some distance.

Se-young’s charm seems to have been a straightforward character (throwing straight balls). What was it like to actually do it?

Usually, I don’t have a straightforward personality like that. So I was really worried about the appropriate level to yell. I’m not sure which tone will be effective, so I’ve been practicing a lot at home on my own.

Throwing the cup scene was impressive. Did you practice a lot?

I wasn’t worried to throw the cup itself. However, Se-young is a person who separates work and private life, so I tried to show her character as someone who wouldn’t be harming the athlete. Cha-yeop is a catcher, so we decided in advance to throw the cup at the wall. If I threw it right at him, he’d be able to catch it.

What was your favorite scene?

In the scene where Lim Dong-gyu and General Manager Baek Seung-soo were talking during the training session, Se-young appeared while running with a stone. Before filming, I was thinking a lot about the size of the stone. At first, they prepared a stone that fits my hand perfectly, and I figured I might actually throw it. So I took a big stone so it could only be seen as a threat, but it wasn’t really dangerous. After the filming, the GM (Baek Seung-soo) said that he thought I was carrying some bread like coffee buns. We’ve filmed it with laughter.

Looking at the final ending, Lee Se-young eventually became the general manager.

During the filming, I didn’t think of that. The director walked by and said to me, “You’re like a general manager,” but he didn’t tell me that I was the general manager. Even after the final airing, I think it would be a good idea to keep it open, whether I am the general manager or not. Since Se-young is a competent woman, I think she’s more likely to be promoted.

There are so many regrets, so there is talk about season 2.

The writer has been preparing for this season for a long time. And if season 2 is here, I don’t think it’s going to be out right now and it’s going to take more time. We’ve all had our lives and I don’t know what’s going to happen in the future. Yet there are no unpleasant memories, so we’re all hoping to get together and see each other again.

What’s your goal for this year?

I am glad to share the end of 2019 and the start of 2020 with ‘Stove League’. I don’t know what the future would be like. If I can hold that feeling for a long time, I think it’s going to be a huge encouragement to the future. I think I’ll be able to remember the days with ‘Stove League’ beautifully.

You’re in late 20s. Is it the way you’ve dreamed of?

I’ve been working since I was 5 years old. When I was in elementary school, I was only thinking abstractly when I was asked to draw myself in 10 years or 20 years later. I guess I’ve always been talking of keeping the future open, because I don’t want to regret if the future I’ve pictured doesn’t come. I don’t think I’ve ever dreamed about becoming an actress in my late 20s. This is a comfortable path but I don’t want to imagine what I’m going to look like in the future. I hope the journey will make me happy. Even if my project doesn’t work well, I think it’s all for a reason.

Source: (1)/2020-03-10

365 Repeat The Year Do You Like Brahms Lee Joon-hyuk Marie Claire Park Eun-bin Park Ji-hyun Sporbiz Stove League The Fault is Not Yours Yoon Chan-young

Leave a comment