[Lee Joon-hyuk] Marie Claire: Lee Joon-hyuk’s Spring Day (March 2020)

Marie Claire interviewed Lee Joon-hyuk, who came back as Ji Hyung-joo in the 2020 MBC drama “365: Repeat The Year”. He talked about his new drama in general, what acting is for him, and the definition of home for him.

Please do not take the translation out without a full credit @typedmaru.
If you want to use our translation and change to another language, let us know by the comments or talk to us on our Twitter account. Thank you!


Actor Lee Joon-hyuk, who slowly heats up his body ahead of his new work. It’s a busy day, but perhaps this season will be warmer.

You didn’t look at the monitor throughout the photo shoot. Why are you so shy?
I don’t know (laughs). Actually I don’t even watch the show I appear on. But I’m a little less embarrassed in front of the broadcast camera. Since I’m acting a character, not me. But the photo shoot is a bit different. It’s still a little awkward and embarrassing.

Still, you seem to have adapted to some extent over time. You’re currently filming “365: Repeat The Year”, how comfortable are you in the film set?
Although it’s difficult because of Covid-19, I still meet people who understand the difficulties in the film set and endure it together to shoot the drama. Meeting good people in the set is a great blessing. In particular, Kim Ji-soo sunbae-nim leads the filming atmosphere well. Nam Ji-hyun, who spent a long time on the set, is a reliable person. So I am relying on them comfortably.

This is the story of ‘Resetters’ who can set time back to a year ago. What makes it attractive?
The previous work was the drama “The Lies Within”. It was also a thriller with relatively many cruel and horrific scenes, and the character itself had a great deal of depression, so I was always in a situation where I had to maintain that emotion. However, this new project has a really quick plot, and the character is cute. I felt that viewers of all ages would be able to watch comfortably even at late night (laughs).

The subject of ‘time slip’ has already been covered a lot in movies and dramas. What do you think is the defining point of this drama?
‘Time slip’ itself is a rule. It’s more of a mystery than a thriller. If you compare it to a manga, it might be “Liar Game” or “As The God Wills”. It also feels like a ‘room escape game’ because it deals with what happens inside a certain rule. After grasping the rules in the beginning, I hope you can follow the story comfortably.

How did you interpret the character ‘Ji Hyung-joo’?
It is a character that can engage with viewers comfortably. The protagonist is so competent that he takes the case and solves it on an eye level similar to the viewer, not an omniscient point of view that solves everything. I did a perm so I could make him a bit more friendly (laughs). Ji Hyung-joo mess around moderately and is competent moderately, which can be interpreted as ‘ordinary people’. So I think he looks more like me realistically. If ‘Oh Young-seok’ in “Designated Survivors: 60 Days” last year was a perfect character, Ji Hyung-joo is not an all-around detective. So the people around me on the set treat me in a brighter atmosphere.

If I look at the recent filmography, I can see that your characters ranged widely.
There are times when I get tired of seeing myself wearing a suit. At that time, I met an independent film like “Baseball Girl”. There will be a time when I’ll want to challenge another story. In other words, ‘being unable to bear up (겨움)’ is a kind of driving force.

How much do you think you resemble Ji Hyung-joo?
If you compare him as ‘fire’, then I’m more like ‘water’. However, I’m thinking hard about how to live my life like sloth. Sloths have maintained their race well even though they are lazy. I think there will be some know-how. It’s time to analyze their strategy (laughs).

Even so, you’ve been working nonstop for years, taking on various roles.
As I continued to work, I haven’t had much personal time lately. If I have free time, I only watch movies, play games, and exercise. But that’s how life is. Many people are working hard, and our ancestors probably lived like that too. Didn’t our ancestors said that even though they ate just one meal, they succeeded? In their view, we are completely a golden spoon. So I’m just doing my works (laughs).

Is that the second driving force behind your acting career?
The fact that I have good colleagues who support me is a more important motivation. Stylists, hair and makeup artists, managers, company family members. Acting is for me, and also for someone else, too. Since the people I like have the same purpose with me, we believe that this work (acting) is meaningful even if it is sometimes difficult.

What do you think is the fun of living as an actor?
I think the meaning of ‘fun’ for me is a little different from that of others. What’s fun is to lay down at home, eat pizza, and watch a movie (laughs). But as I said before, I know clearly that acting has some value. Dozens of the staff at the set are filming me acting. Achieving a sense of accomplishment, for the same purpose as many people who suffer with me, is also a proof that it is worth the job.

If you had time to watch a movie at home right now, what would you choose?
Right now, I want to see the movie “1917”. I want to see “Invisible Man” and “It Comes” as well. I’m also looking forward to the latest Japanese movie “Devil”, which I’ve seen its trailers. It’s sad that I haven’t had time to see anything lately. I wonder if it is the longest time in my life that I can’t watch a movie. Maybe it’s because I’m working hard to have a long time of rest at home (laughs).

What does home mean to actor Lee Joon-hyuk?
The most calm place. I can enjoy various cultural life at home comfortably. There are many movies and games. Even if the situation as in the movie “Old Boy” comes [1], I’ll be able to have fun for two or three months (laughs).
[1] The situation where the protagonist is kidnapped and wakes up in a sealed hotel room where food is delivered through a trap-door.

Do you have any movie genre or director you admire?
When I was young, I liked director David Fincher. Perhaps, I was more attracted because there were not many genres in our country. Now I enjoy almost all the works. I like “Shoplifters” directed by Hirokazu Koreeda, but I’m also looking forward to the release of the Marvel films.

Is there any work you’ve seen and watched over and over again?
The movie “Gattaca” comes to mind immediately. I saw a lot of works starring Brad Pitt, like “Seven”, “Legends of the Fall” and “Fight Club”. There are works that aren’t out of date. It is a movie that can be sympathized with at any time.

How does the indirect experience of watching a work help acting?
Video is also a grammar. Looking at the work continuously will definitely help you understand the grammar. Even when we’re communicating on the set, we talk with the grammar we’ve learned from the show.
t.n: grammar could be interpreted as ‘language’

Are you going to be filming on your upcoming birthday?
I wanted to watch a horror movie on March 13 this year because it is ‘Friday the 13th’, but the shooting is already scheduled. And it is also the director’s birthday, so I should prepare a present (laughs).

If you reset it to a year ago like the setting of this drama, will you enjoy your birthday?
Just a year ago, I was filming “Designated Survivors: 60 Days” and I went on a strict diet. I had to lose 9 kg in a month because I gained weight in the previous movie “Baseball Girl”. Diet, like any actor, is a lifelong homework. So I never want to go back. If the shooting ends a little early on my birthday, I plan to go home with the manager and have a ‘Ranked Match’.

What is ‘Ranked Match’?
A game-ranking match. That’s all I need for my gift (laughs).

Source: (1) / 2020-03

Leave a comment